This is the "Home" page of the "Sports and Society" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sports and Society  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2016 URL: http://mtabe.libguides.com/sportsandsociety Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Social Studies Unit on Sports and Society

   

Social Studies Guiding Question: How can we understand how a country’s economic choices impacts their sports, and vice versa?

Social Studies Sub-Questions: What is the “value” of sports in the U.S. and around the world? Why? Agree or disagree?

What are the effects of sports on culture?  Are some of these good and why? Are some of these effects bad and why?

Social Studies Learning Targets

I can identify the major components of culture

and give examples of how culture influences the individuals in it.

I can explain how and why economic decisions are made.

I can show how economic decisions affect the wellbeing of individuals, businesses, and society.

I can evaluate the effects of sports on culture

 

Culture Grams: World Edition-Click on Location

 

Gale Databases

 

Databases

A database is a collection of information which has been made searchable. Most scholarly databases include articles, books, journals, images and maps. Often the contents of a database are overwhelmingly vast. Make sure you search as specific as possible and know what type of results you want.

Helpful databases for this unit of study include CultureGrams State Edition and CultureGrams World Edition.  Opposing Viewpoints and Pop Culture Collection from Gale will also help and guide you in your research.

Some databases require login and password.

Login is mtabraham

See your teacher or library staff for password.

 

Culture Grams: State Edition- Click State

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip